Inaugural nominees: the Dan Jenkins Medal for Excellence in Sportswriting

The Moody College of Communication’s Texas Program in Sports and Media (TPSM) has announced the 2017 nominees for the inaugural Dan Jenkins Medal for Excellence in Sportswriting. The Jenkins Medal is named in honor of the legendary Dan Jenkins, award-winning sportswriter, best-selling author and iconoclast Texan. The Jenkins Medal will be awarded for the first time this fall in two categories: one for lifetime achievement in sportswriting, and one for the most outstanding work of sportswriting published in the previous calendar year. The nominees for the 2017 award of excellence are:

A 16-member jury of working writers and editors selected the 2017 award of excellence nominees. Jurors for the inaugural award include: co-chair Sally Jenkins, Dan’s daughter and writer for the Washington Post; Kirk Bohls of the Austin American-Statesman; Chuck Culpepper of the Washington Post; Gerald Early, author and professor of humanities at Washington University in St. Louis; Houston-area sportswriter Melanie Hauser; Joe Posnanski of; John Walsh, long time executive editor of ESPN; Gene Wojciechowski of ESPN; co-chair Michael MacCambridge, author of numerous books; Karen Crouse of The New York Times; Bryan Curtis of The; Vahe Gregorian of the Kansas City Star; Kathleen McElroy, associate director of UT’s School of Journalism and former editor of The New York Times; Steve Rushin of Sports Illustrated; Seth Wickersham of ESPN The Magazine; and Alexander Wolff, author and contributing writer at Sports Illustrated.

The first pair of winners will be announced and honored at the inaugural Dan Jenkins Medal Awards dinner in Dallas on Friday, Oct. 13, 2017.